There are times when the “details of life” overtake us and we find ourselves “under the circumstances” and quite uncomfortable.  Today I am in the “uncomfortable” stage. Some events regarding the team ministry and the pressure faced by the administrators of the Lampados Bible College from the “former KGB” officials, have pressed down hard on us.

In Psalm 50, this prophetic psalm, the nation of Israel was facing some severe circumstances and a future judgment was pending.  God gave to Israel every spiritual blessing, privilege and advantage, more than any nation onsisyphus  His earth. Unfortunately, they persisted in turning aside from His pathway and now He is ready to  take action. The title a “Psalm of Asaph” may indicate the writing to be in the days of David.

Asaph was a writer of twelve psalms with eleven of them occurring in book three (see the title in 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83). Psalm 50 is the only psalm of Asaph found in book two of the psalter.  

Dr. John Phillips, writing in Exploring the Psalms, Volume 1, Psalms 1-88 states

“Asaph was one of David’s three chief musicians.  He was selected by the Levites to lead the music when David brought the ark to Jerusalem (1 Chronicles 15:16, 17).  We know that David composed a hymn of praise for the occasion.  Asaph, too, was a writer of sacred songs, so this psalm might have been composed by Asaph as a warning to Israel not to substitute formality and hypocrisy for true spirituality.”  (Pg. 395)  

Psalm 50 – A Psalm of Asaph.

1 The Mighty One, God, the LORD, has spoken,

And summoned the earth from the rising of the sun to its setting.

2 Out of Zion, the perfection of beauty,

God has shone forth.

3 May our God come and not keep silence;

Fire devours before Him,

And it is very tempestuous around Him.

4 He summons the heavens above,

And the earth, to judge His people:

5 “Gather My godly ones to Me,

Those who have made a covenant with Me by sacrifice.”

6And the heavens declare His righteousness,

For God Himself is judge.

Selah.

7 “Hear, O My people, and I will speak;

O Israel, I will testify against you;

I am God, your God.

8 “I do not reprove you for your sacrifices,

And your burnt offerings are continually before Me.

9 “I shall take no young bull out of your house

Nor male goats out of your folds.

 10 “For every beast of the forest is Mine,wildebeest-migration1

              The cattle on a thousand hills.

   11 “I know every bird of the mountains,

and everything that moves in the field is Mine.

12 “If I were hungry I would not tell you,

for the world is Mine, and all it contains.

13 “Shall I eat the flesh of bulls

or drink the blood of male goats?

Domestic_goat_kid_in_capeweed

14  “Offer to God a sacrifice of thanksgiving

and pay your vows to the Most High;

15 Call upon Me in the day of trouble;

I shall rescue you, and you will honor Me.”

16 But to the wicked God says,

“What right have you to tell of My statutes

and to take My covenant in your mouth?

17 “For you hate discipline,

and you cast My words behind you.

18“When you see a thief, you are pleased with him,

and you associate with adulterers.

19 “You let your mouth loose in evil

and your tongue frames deceit.

21 “These things you have done and I kept silence;

You thought that I was just like you;

I will reprove you and state the case in order before your eyes.

22 “Now consider this, you who forget God,

or I will tear you in pieces, and there will be none to deliver.

23 “He who offers a sacrifice of thanksgiving honors Me;

and to him who orders his way aright

I shall show the salvation of God.” (Copied from NASB)

Watch the Birds, Settle down, He’s Lord of All

Cardinal

Psalm 50

[C&L-Krasnodar]

    Psalm 50 is where I was reading,

    Its message was easy to see.

   God was upset with Israel for sinning,

   It was as if He was speaking to me!

   “Every beast of the forest is mine,

   The cattle on a thousand hills;

   The birds in the mountains singing,

  The mountain goats eating by the mill.

I know where they are at this moment,

I see where they eat and dwell.

I feed them their food to meet their needs,

I make sure that for them all is well.

0116am

I wonder, Chuck, why you are so fretful,

Is it because things are not going your way?

The birds in the air trust me, their Master,

I work on their behalf every day.

The beasts in the field are not worried

where their next meal may be found.

But you are so burdened with hurry,

your forehead is lined with a frown.

Please trust in My loyal loving kindness,

I love you unconditionally each day,

your needs are before Me this moment,

the answers to your prayers are on the way.

You are fretting, anxious and worried,

you have piled all your cares in a stack.

there is nothing you can do for these problems.

So trust Me, your life by Me has been backed”.

So I took all the burdens I had been carrying,

I had been walking on a very rocky road.

I cast them right then on my Savior,

He thanked me for rolling on Him my load.

Thank you, my Lord, for this reminder,

You have held me that I might not fall.

May my mind grasp the message of the psalmist,

Watch the birds, settle down,

He’s Lord of all.

                  Birds

 

Leave a Reply

